I look into the darkness

Lioness

I look into the darkness and I am not afraid.

This was originally a white lioness, but she looked flat and lifeless, so I changed the concept. This lion has been painted from a low angle, which is why her legs look unusually long. It’s interesting how mutable the form of a lion is; how, depending on the angle you’re viewing them from, they look so different.

I have been lucky enough to see white lions in the wild, in the part of the world that they come from originally – a place called Timbavati – and I will paint a white lioness once I find the right way to communicate how I feel about these strange and remarkable creatures. Unlike their normal coloured brothers and sisters, white lions stand out like sore thumbs in the colours of the bush. They are different, and yet they survive.

Leave a Reply

